2009 Writers’ League of Texas Manuscript Contest Winners!

Every year, the WLT hosts a manuscript contest for unpublished fiction, creative nonfiction, children’s, and young adult book writers.

The winners of each category meet individually with an agent during the annual WLT Agents Conference (each June in Austin).

Annnnd the winners are:

Children’s Literature – Nikki Loftin (Austin, TX) for Raymond Mahaney, Soccer Failure

Historical Fiction Elizabeth Haltom (Austin, TX) for Gwendolyn’s Sword

Mystery Janice Hamrick (Austin, TX) for Death on Tour

Mainstream Fiction Holly Wonder (Austin, TX) for Janet Carmody: Stuck in Foreplay

Narrative Nonfiction Sunny Haralson (Austin, TX) for Beauty Tips for the Bereaved

Romance Donna J. Cummings (East Hampton, NY) for Lord Midnight

Science Fiction/Fantasy Mary Ann Loesch (Leander, TX) for Nephilim

Thriller Action – Adventure Cecilia Jones (Austin, TX) for Traveler

Young Adult Danielle Jimenez (Laredo, TX) for Virgin in Running Shoes

The guidelines for the 2010 contest will be posted in the Fall on the WLT website (www.writersleague.org) and winners will be announced at next year’s Writers’ League Agents Conference in June.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s