Gival Press Announces Winner of the Sixth Annual Short Story Award

Congratulations to winner Perry Glasser!

Perry Glasser

Perry Glasser

Gival Press is a business member with the Writers’ League and we’re proud to honor their winner, Glasser. His winning story, I-95, Southbound, can be found at the Gival website. Glasser received the $1,000 prize. He is the author of Dangerous Places, a collection of short fiction that received the 2008 G.S. Sharat Chandra Prize from BkMk Press at the University of Missouri-Kansas City. In 2009 the book was named the recipient of the National “Best Books 2009” Award—Fiction & Literature: Short Story Fiction by USA Book News.

Tim Johnston, last year’s winner and the final judge, said, “In a field of strong contenders, I-95, Southbound prevailed because in addition to its incredible fineness of language, its mastery of point-of-view, and its pitch-perfect voice, it simply knocked me out of my chair with a great wallop of surprise.”

We’d also like to congratulate the finalists: Kindal Gray, Clarinda Harriss, Diedra McAffee, and Jose Skinner.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s