WLT’s Third Thursday Program

The night you wait for every month is finally here, again! Join WLT and other members at our monthly Third Thursday Program tonight at 7 p.m. at BookPeople on 603 N. Lamar Blvd, Austin. Before the program, join us at Shoal Creek Saloon, 900 N. Lamar Blvd, Austin, from 5 – 6:30 for happy hour.

This month’s program features Sue Bilich and Weston Norton, who will be speaking aboutMaking Media Work for You: Video, YouTube, and the Importance of Media Training.

Sue Bilich has studied acting and singing in Austin and New York City. She has taken several master classes in acting and singing, and recently returned from a master’s performance program, “The Cabaret Conference at Yale University,” and was the only participant from Texas.

Weston Norton worked in the film and television industry for seven years in nearly every capacity of production: He’s shot film in Mexicali’s only active morgue and helped build a winter wonderland in 100-degree heat on Paramount Studios’ backlot. After earning his MBA from Acton Business School, he coupled his media production skills with a passion for social media to start helping small businesses better engage their customers through online social networking.

One thought on “WLT’s Third Thursday Program

  1. I think it’s a safe statement that most writers find giving and receiving feedback about our writing to be useful, if not invaluable. The writers’ group that I’ve belonged to for almost ten years was indispensable to the book I wrote during those years. That book, my first, will be published at the end of January, and as I move from author to promoter, I find myself longing for a promoters’ group.

    As we all readily admit, writing a book does not train you for promoting it. Promotion/marketing involves an entirely different skill set that I am finding about as foreign as modeling. Yet every conference I’ve attended in the last couple of years, every publisher I’ve spoken with, every article I’ve read on publishing has shouted: Platform, platform, platform. Publicize, publicize, publicize.

    And so I’ve embarked into the jungle of social media. Twitter? Is that like talking to my reflection in the mirror? Blog? And who will read? Web site with videos? And pay for all that with the big fact check I got from my very small publisher?

    I have found the First Thursday conversations on promotion that the Writers League has offered this year to be very helpful, providing some orientation for finding my way through the jungle. So I think if that was helpful, and if the perspective of other writers was helpful in writing the book, might not writers be able to help one another in promoting our books?

    In a monthly meeting we could share strategies, what works, what options such as pod casts and videos exist for finding and creating audiences. And, perhaps most important, we could be one another’s cheerleaders.

    Any takers?

Leave a Reply

