MEET THE MEMBERS

Mike Geehan has been a member of the Writers’ League for two years. He lives in Houston, Texas and will be attending the Agents & Editors Conference in June.

1604791_645255808872670_1233159648_n
Scribe: In what genre(s) do you write?

Mike Geehan: Current series is borderline between Superhuman Science Fiction and Urban Fantasy. Generally, my preferences fall closer to the urban fantasy and more standard epic fantasy.

Scribe: What authors would you like to have coffee or a beer with and which beverage?

MG: Beer or wine. Always tend to like a sip of a brew. Who? Patrick Rothfuss would be a blast to drink with. I would want to figure out how Brandon Sanderson is so prolific, or Joe Abercrombie, another person who would just be fun to sit in a pub and drink with!

Scribe: If you were stranded on a deserted island, what book would you want to have with you to keep you sane?

MG: Can I say the completed Wheel of Time? There are issues with the series, but that would keep me well entertained. (I figured that the entire Star Wars Extended Universe saga would be pushing the request a little!) If a single book… Likely Enders Game.

Scribe: What have you learned from your association with the Writers League?

MG: There is a larger audience of people like me, struggling like me, and persevering like me. The last conference was very informative and enlightening, and gave me a chunk of motivation to start on my second novel, which I am 50K into.

Scribe: Where do you see your writing taking you (or you taking it) in the future?

MG: Many different places in the multi-verse, some fun, some dark, and all exciting. It will go where it will and I will have to run after it as best I can, documenting the trail of expected destruction it will leave in its wake.

Scribe: Is there anything else about you that you would like to share with the world?

MG: Not a native of Texas, but I am here for the long haul right now. I have carved a spot for myself and built a family here, and am enjoying the hobbies that I have which includes archery, capoeira, Brazilian percussion, and enjoying life while I balance work/life/writing, although my writing has suffered in that balance as of late. I need a NANOWRIMO every month for me to have a chance! And yes, I do consider my beard to be made of pure awesomeness!

 

3 thoughts on “MEET THE MEMBERS

  1. Mike, I stumbled onto an end-of-project party on a Brazilian island. The locals went into a full fledged capoeira. These were local workers not professional performers. but much more interesting than the public performers in Salvador. I recorded part of it – too short in retrospect. I will try to get it on disc and bring it to Austin next month for you.

  2. Mike, I made the DVD. If you are staying at the hotel I will leave it at the front desk for you if I don’t find you first. If you’re not staying at the hotel, please leave a message at the hotel for me how I can get the DVD to you. (I leave for Texas Monday and am not sure I’ll have access to a computer on the trip). –Joe Snoe

Leave a comment