MEET THE MEMBERS

Elizabeth Cowan has been a member of the Writers’ League of Texas for twelve years. She lives with her husband in North Texas just outside of a mote-in-the-eye-of-God town called Blue Ridge.

CIMG4989 Liz Photo

Scribe: In what genre(s) do you write?

Elizabeth Cowan: I write in the suspense/romance and humor genres.

Scribe: What authors would you like to have coffee or a beer with and which beverage?

EC: James Rollins, David McCullough, Donna Grant and Elisabeth Naughton. My beverage would be Iced Brandy Alexander Coffee.

Scribe: If you were stranded on a deserted island, what book would you want to have with you to keep you sane?

EC: A humor book like Laughter is the Best Medicine or Kids Say the Darndest Things, something by  Erma Bombeck or Dave Barry. Laughter is healthy and will keep you from weeping over your plight.

Scribe: What have you learned from your association with the Writers’ League?

EC: The Writers’ League is a great source of support, information, and organizes fantastic conferences and classes.

Scribe: Where do you see your writing taking you (or you taking it) in the future?

EC: I hope to retire from my day job and concentrate on writing novels and humor books. Time is a precious commodity right now, with my day job.  Also, I’m looking to sell one or more of my books to movie producers.

Scribe: Is there anything else about you that you would like to share with the world? An opportunity for blatant self-promotion!

EC: I write a weekly humor column for The Norman Transcript in Oklahoma and for The Sierra Vista Herald in Arizona, writing as Elizabeth Cowan. Over the years I have written 500 columns and am still going strong.

I’ve published 2 humor books: Fractured Proverbs and Twisted Thoughts – adages and quotes with a twist.

Through the Keyhole: True Stories Not for the Faint of Heart – the stories are in the too much information realm. This is Volume 1 of what I plan to be an ongoing series.

I’ve also published 3 suspense/romance novels – Perception Series, writing as Liz Cowan. They are standalone stories with several characters appearing in all the books: The Dionysus Connection, Marathon Man, and Sins of the Father. I’m currently working on the fourth in this series: Retribution.

Please visit my website and sign up for my weekly humor column , The Laughter Club. Also, visit and “Like” my Facebook Page.

Don’t forget to sign up for the Newsletter!

Leave a comment