Meet the WLT Staff: Becka Oliver

“The work I do at the WLT and the community that we have here in Texas and beyond has helped me stay sane during these challenging months.”

— Becka Oliver

Executive Director of the Writers’ League since September 2013, Becka has over sixteen years of experience working in book publishing.  

Scribe: Tell us about yourself!

Becka Oliver: I’m an Austin-ite by way of New York – where I worked in publishing for many years, including as a literary agent for the last several – and Florida – where I was born and raised and in twenty-something years never encountered a “Florida Man.” At least not that I recall. What I’m trying to say is, Florida is not all that bad.

Scribe: What’s one book that you couldn’t put down?

BO: My favorite book is Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison. My favorite author is Toni Morrison. My favorite human – present company excluded – is probably Toni Morrison.

Scribe: What do you enjoy in your free time? 

BO: What is “free time?”

Scribe: What is your favorite programming WLT does?

BO: Of course, I love all of the programming we do, but Texas Writes – and the chance it gives me to visit small communities across the state – is probably my favorite.

Scribe: What is your favorite thing about WLT as a whole?

BO: Hands down, the great staff I get to work with every day; the dedicated board members who care so much about our mission; and our lovely and supportive and amazing members who make everything we do worth it.

Scribe: Is there anything else about you that you would like to share with the world? An opportunity for blatant self-promotion!

BO: I have 32,000 words (but who’s counting?) of a novel completed and I am committed (committed!) to finishing a first draft by my birthday. (For anyone who wants to send a card or flowers or cake, that’s November 27).

2020 has been a nutty, strange, scary, and unexpected year. I can honestly say that the work I do at the WLT and the community that we have here in Texas and beyond has helped me stay sane during these challenging months. It’s helped me stay connected and engaged and inspired. I am so grateful that I get to do this job.

Thank you, Becka, and thank you for all the work you do for WLT! 

Leave a comment