Meet the Members: Debbie Dunn

I have learned a lot about plotting and storyboarding over the years [from WLT].

— Debbie Dunn

A member of the Writers’ League since 2010 (and former board member!), Debbie lives in Austin, TX.

Scribe: In what genre(s) do you write?

Debbie Dunn: Children’s Literature and Young Adult

Scribe: What author would you most like to have a drink with, and what’s the first question you would ask them? 

DD:  I would love to have a mimosa with Donna Tartt and ask about her process. She sometimes takes ten years to write a book and I would love to know if she is a plotter and how often she revises a plot if she has one in mind. Her sentences are beautiful, often quite long and packed with information, so I would also like a short punctuation lesson from her because no one wields the comma, colon, and semi-colon quite like Donna Tartt. (Was that a run-on sentence?)

Scribe: If you were stranded on a deserted island, what book (or author) would you want to have with you to keep you sane?

DD: Ummm, I know who I would not be able to be with: Stephen King.

Seriously, I think Tiffany McDaniel (author of Betty) because if she can speak anywhere near as lyrically as she writes, I would never be bored or stressed.

Scribe: What have you learned from your association with the Writers’ League?

DD: I have learned a lot about plotting and storyboarding over the years.

Scribe: Where do you see your writing taking you (or you taking it) in the future?

DD: I hope to continue writing children’s STEM picture books and one day brave the novel —either YA or adult – that I started writing in an MFA program.

Scribe: Here at the Writers’ League, we love sharing book recommendations. What’s one Texas-related book that has come out within the past year that you couldn’t put down? 

DD: The Insomniacs written by Marit Weisenberg…it is set in Austin, TX.

Scribe: Is there anything else about you that you would like to share with the world? An opportunity for blatant self-promotion!

Not really self-promotion, just a weird fact… my husband and I, along with our daughter, Sydney, lived in Oslo Norway in the late 90’s. Our other daughter, Abbie, who was not born yet, is still mad that we “left her behind” for that journey.

Thank you, Debbie!

If you’re a Writers’ League member and you’d be interested in being interviewed for our Meet the Members feature, email us at member@writersleague.org for more information. It’s a great way for other members to get to know you and for you to share a bit about what you’re working on!

Leave a comment