Meet the WLT Staff: Sam Babiak

“Our members, and the amazing folks we get to work with, make the WLT what it is.”

— Sam Babiak

Sam is the Program Director of the Writers’ League of Texas.  

Scribe: Tell us about yourself!

Sam Babiak: I graduated from the University of Texas at Austin with a BA in English Literature and a certificate in Creative Writing with honors. I started working with WLT as an intern in 2018 and the rest is history! I love the simple things, like a hot cup of coffee in the morning or the smell of a new book. And most importantly, I have a cat named Chester.

Scribe: What’s one book that you couldn’t put down?

SB: My most recent read is “Hood Feminism: Notes from the Women That a Movement Forgot” by Mikki Kendall.

Scribe: What do you enjoy in your free time? 

SB: No surprise, but I read a lot! I just really enjoy any sort of storytelling, whether it’s a book, tv show, movie, or podcast. Lately, I’ve been determined to get better at cooking so I’ve been exploring new recipes, but the final products are not always great. I’m trying my best though.

Scribe: What is your favorite programming WLT does?

SB: Definitely Project WISE. I grew up in a border town in South Texas and I didn’t meet or hear from a real life author until college. It would’ve meant so much to me to have a presentation from an author (especially one who looked like me!) growing up. I’m so glad we can provide that for students of all ages around Austin.

Scribe: What is your favorite thing about WLT as a whole?

SB: The community! I’ve met so many incredible people through WLT. And especially in recent times, I’ve been reminded again & again why it’s so important to do what we do. Our members, and the amazing folks we get to work with, make the WLT what it is.

Thank you, Sam, and thank you for all the work you do for WLT! 

Leave a comment