Meet the WLT Staff: J Evan Parks

“I love getting the chance to hear what everyone’s working on and learning more about every member!”

— J Evan Parks

Evan is the Members Services Manager of the Writers’ League of Texas. 

Scribe: Tell us about yourself!

J Evan Parks: I’m a recent grad of UT. I write short stories, usually speculative fiction or sci-fi, and screenplays. When I was in college, I ran a TV show called Down to Film, check it out on YouTube!

Scribe: What’s one book that you couldn’t put down?

EP: My favorite book of all-time is the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams.

Scribe: What do you enjoy in your free time? 

EP: Watching TV and playing Video Games!

Scribe: What is your favorite programming WLT does?

EP: Our Member Movie Night!

Scribe: What is your favorite thing about WLT as a whole?

EP: The membership, everyone I’ve met has been so nice and so interesting. I love getting the chance to hear what everyone’s working on and learning more about every member!

Scribe: Is there anything else about you that you would like to share with the world? An opportunity for blatant self-promotion!

EP: I recently had a short story featured in a zine called Dial Up, it’s being published by a small group called Mobius Strip Club. I’m very proud of it and everyone included.

Also, the final episode of my college TV show career is coming out soon too. Check out Season 19 of Down to Film on YouTube; it’s a great little series and the story my fellow crew-mates and I were able to come up with was really satisfying.

Thank you, Evan, and thank you for all the work you do for WLT! 

Leave a comment