Meet the WLT Staff: Lindsey Ferris

“I love being part of such an enthusiastic and uplifting community.”

— Lindsey Ferris

Lindsey is the Special Projects of the Writers’ League of Texas. 

Scribe: Tell us about yourself!

Lindsey Ferris: I’m currently a senior at UT double majoring in English Honors and Linguistics. I also have a certificate in Creative Writing. I interned with WLT this past spring and am so thankful to continue to be a part of the team.

Scribe: What’s one book that you couldn’t put down?

LF: I’m a big fan of YA! My most recent read was Twelve Kings in Sharakhai by Bradley Beaulieu. It has an action-packed, multithread plot that leaves readers inspired by the female protagonist. Not to mention, the world-building leaves you starstruck!

Scribe: What do you enjoy in your free time? 

LF: Outside of my literary loves, I love to sing and am a part of a show choir at UT! I also am training for a bike ride from Austin to Anchorage, AK in the summer of 2021 to raise money for cancer research and support services.

Scribe: What is your favorite programming WLT does?

LF: My favorite programming that WLT does is the Summer Writing Retreat. This past summer we held it virtually and it was so nice to grow with writers over a entire month. Seeing everyone’s progress was inspiring and I loved that we were able to provide such a community when many were feeling isolated.

Scribe: What is your favorite thing about WLT as a whole?

LF: The people! Not only has the staff become a second family, but the members are so incredibly friendly. I love being part of such an enthusiastic and uplifting community.

Scribe: Is there anything else about you that you would like to share with the world? An opportunity for blatant self-promotion!

LF: I’m honored to have shared my short story “Heavy Pockets” in the Albion Review that will soon be published!

Thank you, Lindsey, and thank you for all the work you do for WLT! 

One thought on “Meet the WLT Staff: Lindsey Ferris

  1. Inspiring interview! Alaska and a short story publication–whoo hoo! Best of luck and I’ve enjoyed your interview a great deal!

Leave a comment